Get to Know Our 2024 Summer Interns!

by Amy Solano, Communications Intern

Pictured from left to right: Barbara Agbotey, Katie LaCava, Eva Plichta, Maya Greenstein, Tyler Hedding, David Agosto-Ginsburg, and Amy Solano

July 30, 2024

What is it like to intern at DVRPC? Six interns working at departments across the Commission share about themselves and their internship experience.

This summer, eleven interns worked alongside DVRPC staff across the Commission’s different departments: 

  • Barbara Agbotey - Planning Intern, Livable Communities
  • David Agosto-Ginsburg - Transportation Modeling Intern, Office of Travel Trends and Forecasts
  • Marissa Cruse - Transportation Planning Intern, Office of Transit, Bicycle, and Pedestrian Planning
  • Vivek Dsouza - Transportation Planner Intern, Office of Safe Streets
  • Maya Greenstein - Equity Policy Intern, Office of Communications and Engagement
  • Tyler Hedding - Congestion Management Intern, Office of Long-Range Planning and Economic Coordination
  • Katie LaCava - Planning Intern, Office of Capital Programs
  • Russell Livolsi - Transportation Planning Intern, Office of Mobility Analysis and Design
  • Kate Pellegrini - Travel Intern, Office of Transportation Operations Management
  • Eva Plichta - Data Analyst Intern, Livable Communities
  • Amy Solano - Communications Intern, Office of Communications and Engagement

Each intern, with their unique skills and perspectives, contributes greatly to DVRPC’s work and vision. In the interview below, we hear from six interns who were available to share about their interests, their experiences at DVRPC, and more.  

Which school are you currently or were you most recently enrolled in? 

  • Katie LaCava (she/her) - Planning Intern, Office of Capital Programs: I recently graduated from the University of Delaware with a B.A. in Public Policy and a B.S. in Energy & Environmental Policy.
  • Eva Plichta (she/her) - Data Analyst Intern, Livable Communities: I recently graduated from Temple University where I studied Environmental Studies. 
  • Tyler Hedding (he/him) - Congestion Management Intern, Office of Long-Range Planning and Economic Coordination: Villanova University - Undergraduate Senior with a double major in Geography and Political Science and a minor in Business.
  • Maya Greenstein (she/her) - Equity Policy Intern, Office of Communications and Engagement: I currently attend Temple University and am studying Community Development.
  • Barbara Agbotey (she/her) - Planning Intern, Livable Communities: I am studying Urban Studies and Design in the College of Arts and Sciences, University of Pennsylvania.
  • Amy Solano (she/they) - Communications Intern, Office of Communications and Engagement: I recently graduated from the University of Pennsylvania with a B.A. in Communication with a concentration in Data and Network Science. I will start the Master of Urban Spatial Analytics at the University of Pennsylvania this fall.

What has been your favorite project or experience as a DVRPC intern? 

  • LaCava: I have loved collaborating with all different people and offices–I'm specifically proud of the short articles I've written that highlight the Circuit Trails Network and our upcoming Municipal Bridge Retro-reimbursement Program. I also love working on projects that specifically aim to improve equity and accessibility in our region. 
  • Hedding: My favorite project, and primary work objective, is the Congestion Management Process (CMP) State-of-Practice Research Report. I have had the opportunity to work alongside many experienced professionals within DVRPC, other MPOs, transportation agencies, and more. My work has been engaging and meaningful, with a significant impact on future CMP reports and the greater Philadelphia region. 
  • Greenstein: My favorite experience has been meeting staff across departments. Everyone is so passionate about their work and open to sharing their expertise. Being in the Office of Communications and Engagement, I have been able to work with different DVRPC offices, allowing me to explore my interests across different sectors of planning. 
  • Agbotey: I've been able to experience an immense amount of support from not just my supervisor, but also other interns and workers. Being able to develop such relationships with people so passionate about planning and creating a better quality of life has been such an amazing experience. Everyone's extremely supportive and wants to see you learn and grow!

What are you looking forward to working on or experiencing at DVRPC?

  • Plichta: I am looking forward to learning as much as I can about ArcGis Pro and Google Sheets/Excel and continuing to figure out the most efficient ways to complete work using these applications.
  • Hedding: As my internship progresses, I am looking forward to connecting with more of my peers and further developing my knowledge of congestion management. I also look forward to experiencing DVRPC's summer outings, happy hours, social club, and other fun activities!

Why did you apply for an internship at DVRPC?

  • LaCava: I had taken a course about sustainable development and urban planning, and was very curious about the planning world as a future career path. I hoped to gain valuable and tangible work experience that would guide me towards a career, and I have definitely gotten that and more!
  • Hedding: I had a prior internship with an urban planning and sustainability consultancy during my time studying abroad in Australia. DVRPC granted me the opportunity to apply the prior knowledge I had gained in a new context, allowing me to challenge myself in the nonprofit sector with planning problems unique to the United States. Additionally, I have a great care for environmental outcomes and livability, and I knew DVRPC would help me explore these areas through a congestion-focused lens. 
  • Agbotey: I applied for an internship at DVRPC because a lot of the goals and values of the Commission align with my interests as a planner. I was interested in learning more about the region and how counties communicate to successfully serve residents or workers, and I also wanted to get exposure to the different aspects of planning for a region with as many stakeholders as the Commission.
  • Solano: My studies in Communication sparked an interest in digital infrastructures and how they impact communities and environments, transportation, and equity. This internship seemed like a great way to further explore those interests outside of school and contribute with my existing skill set.

What is your dream job and why?

  • Hedding: Anything that allows me to travel the world and experience new things– something like a National Geographic explorer, where I can share these experiences with the world and create a positive impact on others. My passions in geography, politics, and mapping, alongside my work with DVRPC has helped me solidify this dream as I strive to understand and help others with innovative solutions. 
  • Greenstein: My dream job would involve combining my interests in planning and public health to improve the built environment (transportation, green space, housing, etc.) for ultimately better community health outcomes. Very broad, I know, but that's the goal. 
  • Plichta: My dream job is to be a ski Instructor because I enjoy being outside, and I like to ski.
  • Agbotey: I would love to work as an urban planner, listening to neighborhoods on the goals and ideas for implementation when areas of opportunity come by. Although I'm still figuring out the details of what I would like to do, I definitely have a better idea of the environment I would thrive in: a space with people passionate about their roles where continuous learning and cordial relationships are encouraged!
  • Solano: I want to do something within the field of planning where I can utilize my interest in data analysis, my knowledge of social structures and planning topics (that deepens as I read, learn, and experience more), and my desire to create equitable communities. I imagine this to be a mix of data storytelling, advocacy, and research.

What do you like to do for fun?

  • LaCava: I enjoy reading, watching movies, and spending time in the sun–especially where I can swim. I also love to travel and try new restaurants!  
  • Hedding: I love to play soccer, ski, golf, and workout. I also really enjoy anything in nature (hiking, kayaking, camping, swimming), traveling, photography, listening to music, and more! 
  • Greenstein: I enjoy being outside and finding new spots in and around Philly to set up my hammock and read! I also like to play ultimate frisbee and shoot film photography.
  • Plichta: My favorite things to do for fun are concerts, Phillies games, going for hikes, taking walks, seeing new things around the city, and trying to cook new things. 
  • Agbotey: I love to read and crochet! I also love to visit local markets and parks!

What is your favorite place in the Greater Philadelphia region?

  • LaCava: Unfortunately I haven't had the chance to explore many spots yet, but I'm looking forward to using all the trails across the region, and I most frequently attend Wells Fargo Center to watch hockey games. 
  • Hedding: I am biased, but I really enjoy the Villanova University campus. The campus includes incredible architecture and great outdoor spaces. I also like to go for runs on the Haverford Nature Trail and enjoy a bite to eat or a drink in Ardmore's Suburban Square. 
  • Greenstein: I love John Heinz National Wildlife Refuge. It's a nice escape out of the city while still technically being in the city.
  • Plichta: My favorite place is probably Wissahickon Park.
  • Agbotey: Clark Park hands down...Cherry Street Pier might be a close second.
  • Solano: Morris Arboretum!

If you could implement any one plan in the region tomorrow, what would it be?

  • LaCava: If it were up to me, I would draw up plans for gondola transportation all over the region! I think it's a seriously underutilized mode of transit in suburban areas. 
  • Hedding: I would like to see an increase in mixed-use spaces, integrating people’s needs for residential, commercial, cultural, institutional, and open-space land use into one area. This would help to establish livable communities and benefit the environment with less congestion. 
  • Greenstein: If time and money weren't real, I would implement a plan to update, clean, and maintain every SEPTA station.
  • Plichta: Free public transit.
  • Agbotey: Complete streets policies throughout major streets, and mixed-use buildings/land use where appropriate.
  • Solano: Create better mobility options by protecting bike lanes and increasing transit frequencies.

What advice would you give future DVRPC interns?

  • LaCava: Attend everything you can, and take it slow! It can be overwhelming to begin any new internship or job, but DVRPC has fantastic people and social events that make work a fun place to be–I really can't imagine loving work any more than I do here. 
  • Hedding: Be excited, passionate, open, and ready to learn. Interning at DVRPC is an incredible opportunity, and it is important to act as a sponge, soaking up all the information you can. Ask questions, work hard, make valuable connections, and most importantly have fun! 
  • Greenstein: Set up chats with people outside your department to learn more about their work and their backgrounds. People are very willing to talk to you, and it is nice to get a wider range of perspectives from within the planning field.
  • Plichta: I would recommend just trying to learn as much as you can and ask questions. 
  • Agbotey: Always feel free to ask questions and say hi!
  • Solano: Take time to learn in the way that works best for you. If you are curious about something, be sure to ask about it–there might be a way for you to get involved.

Commission, Transportation, Livable Communities, Bicycle & Pedestrian

RELATED

DVRPC Webpages


Why Work at DVRPC

Air Quality Partnership
Annual Report
Connections 2050
Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA)
Economic Development District